link.png Four women selected as part of Cannes Film Festival jury← Back

As the month of May rapidly approaches, so does the annual Cannes Film Festival and it’s been revealed that, this year, four women have been selected to be part of the Cannes Film Festival Jury.
For the 69th edition of the Festival de Cannes, actresses Kirsten Dunst, Valeria Golino and Vanessa Paradis will be joined by Iranian producer Katayoon Shahabi. Presided by George Miller, the remainder of the jury will consist of Arnaud Desplechin, Mads Mikkelsen, Donald Sutherland and László Nemes.
Kirsten Dunst and Vanessa Paradis are two actresses with close ties to the fashion world. Paradis has a close relationship with French fashion house Chanel and was recruited to be the face of the Coco fragrance in 1991. She has since featured in a number of the house’s adverts as well as being a regular front-row guest at fashion shows. Meanwhile Dunst is soon to appear in Woodshock, a film by Kate and Laura Mulleavy sisters, the design duo behind fashion label Rodarte.
The choice of including four women in the jury is particularly important since it comes at a time when gender inequality in the film industry is being highlighted and criticised, Dunst being one of the actresses to speak out about the problem. The issue is also being highlighted by Kering: the luxury conglomerate, which counts some of the biggest luxury fashion labels in its portfolio, has been keen to push the role of women working in the film industry: since last year it has used the prestigious film festival as a platform for a series of talks as well as a prize.
The festival kicks off on the 11th May and, over the course of 12 days, the jury will be responsible for considering the 21 films in competition before then selecting the winners, which will be announced on the 22nd of May.